Australian Federation


To promote, perform and protect the Korean martial art of Soo Bahk Do Moo Duk Kwan as taught by the Chang Shi Ja (Founder) Hwang Kee and Kwan Jang Nim (Grandmaster) H.C. Hwang in Australia.


Date of Creation: March 2004




Australia is part of Zone 1 of World Moo Duk Kwan, and is is divided into five regions.

  • Region 1: Northern Territory
  • Region 2: Western Australia
  • Region 3: ACT and New South Wales
  • Region 4: South Australia
  • Region 5: Victoria


Each of the regions are represented on the Australian Federation Committee. Two advisory committees, the Senior Advisory Committee (SAC) and the Technical Advisory Committee (TAC) provide support to the Federation and its members.


The Federation is represented at the international level by an appointed Designee.


The Designee represents Australia at the yearly World Moo Duk Kwan Symposium and is responsible for communications between the Federation and Kwan Jang Nim H.C. Hwang.


Designee: Kriton Glenn SBN




The SAC is the senior advisor for the TAC and reports to Kwan Jang Nim H.C. Hwang.


SAC Member: Michael Austin SBN




Regional Examiners ensure the regions operate in support of the Australian Federation and TAC.


Regional Examiners

Region 1: Stephen McGrath SBN

Region 2: Tim Conversi SBN

Region 3: Mark Koina SBN

Region 4: Ray Sargeant SBN

Region 5: PJ Steyer SBN


Chair: Derek Koina SBN

Treasurer: Jim Kehoe SBN

Secretary: Kylie McMartin KSN


Ordinary Members

Patrick McCormick SBN

Tony Hertog SBN

Robyn Costa SBN

Frank Akkerboom KSN

Mr Shane Buckley

Mr Stephen McMillan



Hu Kyun In

Hu Kyun In (Guardians of the Art) are senior members of the Australian Federation who have been recognised for their long-standing commitment to the study of Soo Bahk Do. They are further recognised for their years of devotion to strengthening and spreading the art across Australia.


Hu Kyun In: Leonie Broman SBN

Hu Kyun In: Craig Connor SBN


The TAC advises the Australian members across all areas of Moo Do, including:


Shim Gung Bu

  1. Standardisation of all tradition and philosophy
  2. Seminars on tradition, protocols and philosophy
  3. Event procedures, ceremonies and flag display
  4. Further study of Shim Gung aspect of our art


Weh Gung Bu

  1. Standardisation of all techniques
  2. Conduct all clinics, tournaments and camps
  3. Further study of Weh Gung aspect of our art


Neh Gung Bu

  1. Standardisation of culture, history and terminology
  2. Seminars on culture, history and terminology
  3. Further study of Neh Gung aspect of our art

Mark Koina SBN and Kim Wyles SBN were appointed to the Australian TAC by Kwan Jang Nim H.C. Hwang in October 2017.